WTF: DMV Visits

Posted: April 29, 2010 by Brian in comedy, funny, ignorance, Politics, WTF
Tags: , , , , , , ,

… NOT!!

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of visiting the DMV in Compton, Ca.  Ha ha ha.  Some of you just scorned when you read that.  Yes, the beloved DMV.  I mean they’re all pretty bad as far as foot traffic and wait times, but the Compton office is by far the worst, in my opinion.  About 3 weeks ago, I drove down for a simple task: Pick up some customized licence plates.  I arrive about 7:50 a.m., minutes before they opened their doors, expecting to see a line outside the door, and sure enough there it was.  A line so long you’d think the DMV was giving away free money.  TWO lines, as a matter of fact.  One, slithering its way down half of the left side of the building.  The other formed to the right and its length, equivalent to that of a line for a new ride at a theme park.  It would easily take one about 30 minutes just to walk in.  Wait time for non-appointments: 1 hour 20 minutes.  Wait time for appointments: 16 minutes.  I turned back around drove home and made an appointment.  I returned yesterday, drove up to the place, no line forming outside.  I drove in, NO parking.  I parked two blocks away, and walked back to the office.  Spent about 5 minutes in line and another 30 minutes–despite their falsely advertised 16-minute appointment wait time–waiting for my number in an office so packed I can smell what the person next to me had for lunch, and by the smell of it, the patron on the other side of me was about ready to expel his lunch.  I took care of business and I was on my way.

See, I pay my taxes.  You pay your taxes.  We ALL pay our taxes.  Especially to the state. Can’t we get some decent service at our local DMV offices?  It’s the least they can do for taking our money.  Oh, wait.  We’re talking about California.  The state that, instead of sending out your refund, was sending out I.O.U.’s the its residents.  Nice, California. WTF…

Comments
  1. Hookedfishy says:

    That’s sunny California for ya. I shouldn’t laught at others’ misery, but I can’t help but chuckle.

Leave a Reply

