Sound Feuds: Cat Fight!

Posted: April 14, 2010 by Brian in music, news
Tags: , , ,

M.I.A has beef with Lady Gaga

Apparently, the Sri-Lankan artist has got it in for the Queen of Eccentricity.  For what reason, you ask?  For not having enough originality.  She claims, “she’s not progressive… none of her music’s reflective of how weird she wants to be or thinks she is. She models herself Grace Jones and Madonna, but the music sounds like 20-year-old Ibiza disco.”  Who would win in a fight?

TEAM M.I.A                VS                  TEAM GAGA

2004       ♥                                  MUSICALLY INVOLVED                                2008

3      ♥                                           TOTAL # ALBUMS                                           2

2                                                    TOP TEN SINGLES                                     ♥  7

Zer0                                        PLATINUM CERTIFICATIONS WORLDWIDE                   ♥48

8                                                                               AWARDS                                                           ♥ 57

VERDICT: Team Gaga, Winner!.. by far.

I honestly think Team M.I.A. would win in an octagon fight but when it comes to music, Lady Gaga has more right to mouth-off than M.I.A.  I guess Lady Gaga is not the “Monster” that M.I.A. paints her out to be.  Gaga, if you want me to write a WTF on M.I.A., let me know.  Then we can “Poke-her Face” together.


Comments
  1. Letty says:

    Although I love Gaga and her insane getups, I think M.I.A. has a point. Nothing is really that out there… It’s all too bubble-gum pop backed by kind of dark lyrics in SOME songs. But other than that, she’s catering to the tween audience and all the club peeps, and the rest of us get caught in the crossfire of the radio. I have always loved M.I.A. for being a very outspoken artist in her music. I mean the songs “Boys” isn’t about how hot they are! What I get from it is that it’s about getting all these little boys to be in guerilla warfare,etc. Now that is more important to me than Gaga singing about not wanting to hear her man in the club calling her ass! Although the videos are another matter. Gaga has these incredible videos that regardless of what she is singing capture the eye. I think that’s honestly how I got hooked on some of her songs, whereas M.I.A.’s music I just hear it and it’s captivating.

    Sorry, but for me musically, I love M.I.A.

  2. Crazy RN says:

    M.I.A is sooo lame ! never liked her one-hit-wonder kinda music. Lady GAGA is interesting, good sense of fashion, catchy songs, I truly enjoy her. MIA is the total opposite. She needs to not quit her day job..which is.. who knows..

Leave a Reply

