Lost Track

Posted: November 8, 2009 by Brian in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Good Evening all. Tonight, I write about something tragic. Something you don’t expect to hear about, let alone experience in front of your eyes.

On my way home today, I was walking towards the train station where I catch my ride home every day, when I was blocked by red flashing lights, sirens, and a sea of people gazing upon something very tragic, but I hadn’t realized what. I automatically assume the worst so that when I hear the truth of the situation, it won’t seem so bad. But today, my suspicions were right on.

Someone, a man, had been hit by the train as he was trying to cross the tracks to walk on to the platform. When I arrived, the accident had already happened and paramedics, working alongside the fire department, were standing and crouching at the front of the train trying to get the man out. After about 10 minutes, they began bringing the man out from under. He was, thankfully, in one piece, but very much in a critical state, I’m sure. The man was taken away on a gurney and into an ambulance which quickly sped off to the nearest ER. The train began to move forward.

After a few minutes, the people on the train were let out, and were asked to wait for the next train. The people on the platform seemed shaken up. I mean, why wouldn’t they, right? The train they were riding had just hit, and could have killed, a man.

People, for some reason, don’t respect the fact that these are fast, heavy, deadly machines. I, personally, have been cited for crossing the track as the train was approaching bus easily a football field away. They take these things very seriously, and ever since then I will always wait for the lights to stop flashing

Leave a Reply

